Musical Appropriations (Art 8: creative project #4)

For this project, students learned about appropriation and copyright issues. We discussed when and how it is acceptable to use other artists’ work. The students then researched famous artworks and chose one well known work to use as inspiration. The challenge was to alter the artwork enough to be original (one of our artistic behaviors) while keeping some of the artworks previous attributes. The students were asked to give their artwork a “musical twist” because music and art is an awesome combination!

Students planning their projects:

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The final artworks are just fantastic!

IMG_0529

Taylor-I created my piece using colored pencils. The painting was inspired by Salvador Dali’s painting, “The Persistence of Memory.” I added musical instruments in the place of clocks, but kept his original melting style the same.

 

I created this artwork using acrylic paint. This painting was inspired by “The Scream.” I painted “The Scream” with music notes in the sky but kept the man the same.

Cody- I created this artwork using acrylic paint. This painting was inspired by “The Scream.” I painted “The Scream” with music notes in the sky but kept the man the same.

 

Hunter S

Hunter S- I used pencil to create my drawing. It was inspired by Leonardo Da Vinci’s “Vitruvian Man.” I changed it by giving him an electric guitar.

 

I created this artwork using a linocut stamp that I made and printmaking ink. This artwork was inspired by Andy Warhol’s Marilyn Monroe prints. I changed Marilyn to pianos but kept his Pop Art style the same.

Julia-I created this artwork using a linocut stamp that I made and printmaking ink. This artwork was inspired by Andy Warhol’s Marilyn Monroe prints. I changed Marilyn to pianos but kept his Pop Art style the same.

 

I created this project by using pencil and markers. The drawing was inspired by the artwork of Keith Haring. I changed the people he drew into instruments but kept the black marks and symbols. I also kept his style of bold colors and not a lot of detail with the objects outlined in black.

Zoey-I created this project by using pencil and markers. The drawing was inspired by the artwork of Keith Haring. I changed the people he drew into instruments but kept the black marks and symbols. I also kept his style of bold colors and not a lot of detail with the objects outlined in black.

 

I used colored pencil to draw Kurt Cobain, the front man of Nirvana. I used Andy Warhol’s painting style and pattern. Using the square pattern and the repeating pictures of the same person gives it the Warhol style.

Skylynd-I used colored pencil to draw Kurt Cobain, the front man of Nirvana. I used Andy Warhol’s painting style and pattern. Using the square pattern and the repeating pictures of the same person gives it the Warhol style.

 

I used painting and shading of colored pencils. The artwork that inspired me was “Woman with a Parasol” by Claude Monet. I made it original because I made the girl my favorite band member/singer. I painted him holding his electric guitar instead of a parasol, and he’s facing away from us instead of facing towards us. I also changed the  meadow into a stage. I kept it the same  because he’s just standing there and  looking into the distance.

Kendra-I used painting and shading of colored pencils. The artwork that inspired me was “Woman with a Parasol” by Claude Monet. I made it original because I made the girl my favorite band member/singer. I painted him holding his electric guitar instead of a parasol, and he’s facing away from us instead of facing towards us. I also changed the meadow into a stage. I kept it the same because he’s just standing there and looking into the distance.

 

Luke-In my art project I used pencil and sharpie to draw and sketch. The artwork I referenced was “Cyberman” by Cole Greyis which was inspired by Shepard Fairey “Peace Guard.”  For my art project I changed him to holding a snare drum instead of a gun. I also used musical notes in and around Cyberman but kept the overall design the same.

Luke-In my art project I used pencil and sharpie to draw and sketch. The artwork I referenced was “Cyberman” by Cole Greyis which was inspired by Shepard Fairey “Peace Guard.” For my art project I changed him to holding a snare drum instead of a gun. I also used musical notes in and around Cyberman but kept the overall design the same.

 

Chelsea-I created this artwork using colored pencils. This artwork was inspired by Charles Demuth’s painting, I saw the Figure 5 in Gold, from 1928. Instead of using a five, I drew a treble clef to incorporate the music theme, but I kept the background and the color palette the same.

Chelsea-I created this artwork using colored pencils. This artwork was inspired by Charles Demuth’s painting, I saw the Figure 5 in Gold, from 1928. Instead of using a five, I drew a treble clef to incorporate the music theme, but I kept the background and the color palette the same.

 

Lynsie-I created my artwork using colored pencils. The artwork that inspired my project was “American Gothic. “ Instead of holding a pitchfork, the man is holding drum sticks to go with the marching band theme. They are dressed in a marching band uniform and a twirling outfit. I kept her hair and his glasses and facial structure the same.

Lynsie-I created my artwork using colored pencils. The artwork that inspired my project was “American Gothic. “ Instead of holding a pitchfork, the man is holding drum sticks to go with the marching band theme. They are dressed in a marching band uniform and a twirling outfit. I kept her hair and his glasses and facial structure the same.

 

Nick-For my project, I used pencil and paper. I referenced the painting of Rosie the Riveter by J. Howard Miller (We Can Do It!). I changed Rosie into a microphone and gave her musical tattoos. I also changed the letters into music notes. I kept her arms and her coat and the text so that people would recognize the original.

Nick-For my project, I used pencil and paper. I referenced the painting of Rosie the Riveter by J. Howard Miller (We Can Do It!). I changed Rosie into a microphone and gave her musical tattoos. I also changed the letters into music notes. I kept her arms and her coat and the text so that people would recognize the original.

 

Kaleigh K-I used pastels to create my artwork. It was inspired by “The Scream” by Edvard Munch. I changed the people and the boat into musical instruments but kept the color and composition of the painting the same.

Kaleigh K-I used pastels to create my artwork. It was inspired by “The Scream” by Edvard Munch. I changed the people and the boat into musical instruments but kept the color and composition of the painting the same.

 

For this artwork, I used colored pencils. This pictures was inspired by the painting “Golconda” by Renee Magritte. To add music to the painting, I used music notes instead of mean but kept the setting the same.

Mattea-For this artwork, I used colored pencils. This pictures was inspired by the painting “Golconda” by Renee Magritte. To add music to the painting, I used music notes instead of mean but kept the setting the same.

 

Seth

Seth-I created this artwork with paint and a stamp. It was inspired by Andy Warhol’s “$.” I turned the dollar signs into guitars and kept his colors.

 

Kaleigh C

Kaleigh C-I created this artwork using acrylic paint. This recreation was inspired by Hokusai’s painting “The Great Wave.” I added the music notes within the wave and turned the boats into trumpets but kept the shape of the waves and the foam.

 

Shane

Shane-To make this artwork I used four different types of media: pencil, colored pencil, sharpie, and paint. This project was influenced by Andy Warhol’s colorful style. To add a musical touch I drew Beethoven but kept Warhol’s fictional and vibrant color palette.

 

Lauren

Lauren-I used paint to creat this artwork. It was inspired by Chuck Close’s style of painting. I painted a colorful steaero but used the same design technique that Close uses for his portraits.

 

Brittany

Brittany-I used colored pencils for my artwork. The artwork that inspired me was “Lips” by Andy Warhol. I changed the background to look like a disco party and put the lips in the blocks.

 

Alyssa

Alyssa-For my project I used colored pencils. This was inspired by Van Gogh’s “Café Terrace at Night.” Instead of thestars in the sky, I added music notes. I drew the rest of the picture similar to the original.

 

McKenna

McKenna-I used tempera and acrylic paint for this artwork. My inspiration was “The Girl with the Pearl Earring.” I changed it to make it look like a rock star but kept her head turned sideways.

 

Hunter B

Hunter B-I created this artwork using colored pencils. This drawing was inspired by Grant Wood’s “American Gothic” from 1930. I painted Elvis to give my work a musical twist but kept Wood’s style.

 

Parker

Parker-I created this artwork using different types of pencils. This painting was inspired by “American Gothic.” I added music stars Michael Jackson and Gloria Gaynor.

 

Alex

Alex-I used pastels and pencil to create my project. The artwork that inspired my project was “The Starry Night” by Vincent Van Gogh. I made the stars into music notes and the tree into a guitar. I kept the moon and the village the same.

 

Ramie

Ramie-I created this artwork using colored pencil. This painting was inspired by Matisse’s “Icarus” from 1944. I drew a guitar in the middle so it has a music twist.

 

Annie

Annie-I created this artwork using acrylic paint. It was inspired by Renee Magritte’s “The Treachery of Images” from 1928. I painted the trumpet instead ofa pipe to give it a musical twist.

 

Regan

Regan-I created this artwork using paint. This painting was inspired by “Girl with a Pearl Earring” by Vermeer. I painted the woman with Beats, a microphone, and music notes in the background. I kept the woman’s head the same just wearing beats.

 

Rachel

Rachel-I created this artwork using colored pencil. I was inspired to make this from Pablo Picasso’s “The Weeping Woman.” The woman is playing a flute instead of holding a tissue. Her face and her hat were kept the same as the original.

 

Blake

Blake-I used pencil as a medium to create my artwork. It was inspired by Grant Wood’s “American Gothic” and I changed it by transforming the man and woman, the flags, clouds, and their clothes into a Mario-based theme with musical things in it.I also used a flute instead of a pitchfork.

 

Caleb

Caleb-I created this artwork using acrylic paint. This painting was inspired by Van Gogh’s self portrait. I made him into a marching band person with a hat.

 

Katie

Katie-I used pencil for my drawing “The Lady of Shallot” by John William Waterhouse. I changed the girl inside the boat to be Katy Perrybut I kept the background and the setting the same.

 

Amanda

Amanda-I used pencil as my medium to create this artwork. It was inspired by Leonardo Da Vinci’s “Mona Lisa.” I added an ipod and headphoens to the painting. I kept the face and everything else the same.

IMG_3134

Alden-I used colored pencils and drawing pencils to create this art. The work was inspired by Salvador Dali’s “The Persistence of Memory.” I changed the clocks to drums, the background became brighter to try and make the work more musical and I changed what I thought was the cloth to a marching band jacket.

dylan

Dylan-I used acrylic paint for my medium to create my artwokr. My painting was inspired by Vincent Van Gogh and his painting “The Starry Night” from 1889. I turned the mountain into a music note and put music notes in the wind swirls but I kept the same colors.

 

Austin-I created this artwork using tempera paint. This painting was inspired by Pablo Picasso’s painting, “The Blue Guitar”, from 1904. I used oranges instead of blues and an electric guitar instead of a classic guitar. The black lines and shapes throughout resemble Picasso’s style.

Austin-I created this artwork using tempera paint. This painting was inspired by Pablo Picasso’s painting, “The Blue Guitar”, from 1904. I used oranges instead of blues and an electric guitar instead of a classic guitar. The black lines and shapes throughout resemble Picasso’s style.

Grace

 

Aaron

 

Leave a Reply

